

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

> Brussels, 10.10.2016 COM(2016) 649 final

ANNEX 1

ANNEX

to the

Proposal for a Council Decision

on the position to be taken on behalf of the European Union within the Association Committee in Trade configuration established by the Association Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Moldova, of the other part

DRAFT

DECISION NO 1/2016 OF THE EU-REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE IN TRADE CONFIGURATION

of ...2016

on the establishment of the list of arbitrators referred to in Article 404(1) of the Association Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Moldova, of the other part

THE ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE IN TRADE CONFIGURATION,

Having regard to the Association Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Moldova, of the other part, signed in Brussels on 27 June 2014, and in particular Article 404(1) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) The Association Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Moldova, of the other part ('the Agreement'), entered into force on 1 July 2016.
- (2) In accordance with Article 404(1) of the Agreement, the Association Committee in Trade configuration, as set out in Article 438(4) of the Agreement, is to establish a list of 15 individuals to serve as arbitrators in bilateral dispute settlement proceedings no later than six months after the entry into force of the Agreement,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The list of individuals who may serve as arbitrators for the purposes of Article 404(1) of the Association Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Moldova, of the other part, is set out in the Annex to this Decision.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the day of its adoption.

Done at ..., ...

For the Association Committee in Trade configuration

The Chair

<u>ANNEX</u>

LIST OF ARBITRATORS REFERRED TO IN ARTICLE 404(1) OF THE AGREEMENT

Arbitrators proposed by the Republic of Moldova

- 1. Mihail BURUIANĂ
- 2. Procop BURUIANA
- 3. Octavian CAZAC
- 4. Lilia GRIBINCEA
- 5. Viorel RUSU

Arbitrators proposed by the European Union

- 1. Jacques BOURGEOIS
- 2. Claus–Dieter EHLERMANN
- 3. Pieter Jan KUIJPER
- 4. Giorgio SACERDOTI
- 5. Ramon TORRENT

Chairpersons

- 1. Leora BLUMBERG (South Africa)
- 2. William DAVEY (United States)
- 3. Merit JANOW (United States)
- 4. Helge SELAND (Norway)
- 5. David UNTERHALTER (South Africa)