

Brussels, 10.8.2018 COM(2018) 580 final

**ANNEX** 

#### **ANNEX**

#### to the

## **Proposal for a Council Decision**

on the position to be adopted, on behalf of the European Union in the CETA Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development established by the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada, of the one part, and the European Union and its Member States, of the other part, establishing lists of individuals willing to serve as panellists under Chapter 23 and Chapter 24 of the Agreement

EN EN

#### ATTACHMENT

# DECISION No [X /2018] OF THE CETA COMMITTEE ON TRADE AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

of xxx

# establishing lists of individuals willing to serve as panellists under Chapter 23 and Chapter 24 of the Agreement

#### THE CETA COMMITTEE ON TRADE AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT.

Having regard to the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada, of the one part, and the European Union and its Member States, of the other part, and in particular paragraphs 6 and 7 of Article 23.10 and paragraphs 6 and 7 of Article 24.15 thereof,

#### Whereas:

- (1) In accordance with Article 30.7.3 of the Agreement, parts of the Agreement have been applied provisionally since 21 September 2017.
- Pursuant to paragraph 6 of Article 23.10 of the Agreement, the CETA Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development is to establish a list of at least nine individuals who are willing and able to serve as panellists with regard to matters arising under Chapter 23 (Trade and Labour) and who, pursuant to paragraph 7, have specialised knowledge or expertise in labour law, other issues addressed in Chapter 23, or in the resolution of disputes arising under international agreements.
- (3) Pursuant to paragraph 6 of Article 24.15 of the Agreement, the CETA Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development is to establish a list of at least nine individuals who are willing and able to serve as panellists with regard to matters arising under Chapter 24 (Trade and Environment) and who, pursuant to paragraph 7, have specialised knowledge or expertise in environmental law, issues addressed in Chapter 24, or in the resolution of disputes arising under international agreements.
- (4) Pursuant to paragraph 6 of Article 23.10 and paragraph 6 of Article 24.15, each list shall consist of at least three individuals named by each Party and at least three individuals named by the Parties who are not nationals of either Party and who are willing and able to serve as chairperson of a Panel of Experts,

#### HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

- 1. The lists of individuals willing to serve as panellists as set out in the Annex are hereby established.
- 2. This Decision takes effect on the date of its adoption by the CETA Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development.

For the CETA COMMITTEE ON TRADE AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

For the EU For Canada

# **ANNEX**

# LIST OF INDIVIDUALS WILLING TO SERVE AS PANELLISTS WITH REGARD TO MATTERS ARISING UNDER CHAPTER 23 (TRADE AND LABOUR) OF THE AGREEMENT

Individuals with specialised knowledge or expertise in labour law, other issues addressed in Chapter 23, or in the resolution of disputes arising under international agreements:

## <u>Individuals named by Canada:</u>

**Kevin Banks** 

Adelle Blackett

Carol Nelder-Corvari

## <u>Individuals named by the European Union:</u>

Jorge Cardona

Eddy Laurijssen

Karin Lukas

# Chairpersons (non-nationals of the Parties):

Janice Bellace

Kathleen Claussen

Christian Häberli

Jill Murray

Patrick Pearsall

Ross Wilson

# LIST OF INDIVIDUALS WILLING TO SERVE AS PANELLISTS WITH REGARD TO MATTERS ARISING UNDER CHAPTER 24 (TRADE AND ENVIRONMENT) OF THE AGREEMENT

Individuals with specialised knowledge or expertise in environmental law, issues addressed in Chapter 24, or in the resolution of disputes arising under international agreements:

## Individuals named by Canada:

Anne Daniel

Armand de Mestral

Elaine Feldman

Matthew Kronby

Brendan McGivern

## <u>Individuals named by the European Union:</u>

Laurence Boisson de Chazournes

Hélène Ruiz Fabri

Geert Van Calster

#### <u>Chairpersons (non-nationals of the Parties):</u>

Arthur Edmond Appleton

James Bacchus

Nathalie Bernasconi-Osterwalder

Christian Häberli