EN EN

COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES



Brussels, 22.11.2006 SEC(2006) 1490

COMMISSION STAFF WORKING DOCUMENT

Accompanying the

COMMUNICATION FROM THE COMMISSION The EU Economy: 2006 Review

STRENGTHENING THE EURO AREA: KEY POLICY PRIORITIES

{COM(2006) 714 final}

EN EN

COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES DIRECTORATE GENERAL ECONOMIC AND FINANCIAL AFFAIRS

Brussels, 22 November 2006 ECFIN (2006) REP.56908-EN

THE EU ECONOMY 2006 REVIEW

ADJUSTMENT DYNAMICS IN THE EURO AREA

Experiences and Challenges

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The "EU Economy: 2006 Review" was prepared under the responsibility of Klaus Regling, Director-General for Economic and Financial Affairs and Marco Buti, Deputy Director General for Economic and Financial Affairs. Executive responsibility was attached to Jürgen Kröger, Director for Economic Studies and Research. Mary McCarthy and Max Watson served as co-ordinating editors of the report.

Primary contributors to this report include Alfonso Arpaia, Laura Bardone, Sean Berrigan, Bouke Buitenkamp, Alberto Cabrero Bravo, Pedro Cardoso, Zdeněk Čech, Oliver Dieckmann, Adriaan Dierx, Dermot Hodson, Fabienne Ilzkovitz, Heinz Jansen, Lars Jonung, Caroline Ko, Stefan Kuhnert, Sven Langedijk, Martin Larch, Jarmo Kontulainen, Guy Lejeune, Mary McCarthy, Kieran Mc Morrow, Moisés Orellana, Dario Paternoster, Lucia Piana, Karl Pichelmann, Werner Röger, Soren Sorensen, Michael Thiel, Javier Yaniz Igal, Christoph Walkner and Max Watson.

The report benefited from contributions and comments by staff of the Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs, including Sean Berrigan, Georg Busch, Giuseppe Carone, Servaas Deroose, Oliver Dieckmann, Declan Costello, Adriaan Dierx, Elena Flores, Fabienne Ilzkovitz, Barbara Kauffmann, Carlos Martinez Mongay, Lucio Pench, Jose Luis Robledo Fraga, Jan H. Schmidt and Ralph Wilkinson, as well as from Tassos Belessiotis (Bureau of Economic Policy Advisers).

Statistical assistance was provided by Yves Bouquiaux, Leire Leoz and Barbara Moench, all of whom also helped to prepare Tables and Graphs. Patricia Tuite and Danielle De Borger were responsible for the lay-out of the report and provided excellent secretarial support, together with Ana Aguado Sanchez. Amy Walsh and Vittorio Gargaro also contributed to the editorial work.

Comments on the report would be gratefully received and should be sent, by mail or e-mail, to:

Mail: European Commission

Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs

Directorate for Economic Studies and Research Mary McCarthy Max Watson

Office BU-1 05-198 Office BU-1 05-194
B-1049 Brussels B-1049 Brussels

E-mail: mary.mccarthy@ec.europa.eu or max.watson@ec.europa.eu